myth and facts

Title : Facts about the Solar System Previous topic PreviousNext Next topic


  1. The Solar System consists of the Sun and the astronomical objects bound to it by gravity in the area known as Inter-planetary space.
  2. There are 8 planets that orbit the sun.
  3. The 4 smaller inner planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars and are also called the terrestrial planets; the terrestrial planets are mainly composed of rock and metal.
  4. The 4 huge outer planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune and are called the gas Giants or Ice Giants terrestrial planets; the Gas Giants are mainly composed of ices (such as water), ammonia and methane.
  5. The asteroid belt lies between Mars and Jupiter.
  6. The 5 'dwarf planets' in our Solar system are Ceres, Pluto, Haumea, Makemake and Eris.
  7. 6 of the planets and 3 of the dwarf planets are orbited by natural satellites usually referred to as "moons".
  8. The Moon is Earth's only natural satellite and is the fifth largest satellite in the Solar System.
  9. The Moon's gravitational influence produces the ocean tides.

Current Rating : Good
Rate Now
Views: 2607
View all related images of this topic
  • Panel Solar Sys...
    Panel Solar Sys...
View all related videos of this article

  • facts about the solar sys...

  • facts about the solar sys...

  • No related myths and facts found !!

  • No related tips found !!