myth and facts

Title : Facts about White Rhinos Previous topic PreviousNext Next topic

The white rhinoceros is the second largest land animal in the world, after the elephant.There are five different species of rhinoceros, three native to southern Asia and two native to Africa. They are the Black Rhinoceros, White Rhinoceros, Indian Rhinoceros, Javan Rhinoceros and Sumatran Rhinoceros.

They have a body length between 3.7 and 4 m (12 - 13 ft.), a tail length of 70 cms (28 inches) and they weigh up to 2.3 tons (2.25 tons).

The horns are made of keratin (a hairlike substance). The longest known on a black rhino was 4 feet 9 inches long (they average about 20 inches in length on the black rhino).

The white rhino's name derives from the Dutch "weit," meaning wide, a reference to its wide, square muzzle adapted for grazing. The white rhino, which is actually gray, has a pronounced hump on the neck and a long face.

The black, or hooked-lipped, rhino, along with all other rhino species, is an odd-toed ungulate (three toes on each foot). It has a thick, hairless, gray hide. Both the black and white rhino have two horns, the longer of which sits at the front of the nose.

The black rhino is smaller than the white rhino.

The diet of a White Rhinoceros consists of grass and they are one of the largest pure grazers. They will drink twice a day if water is available, but if it isn't they are able to go for 4 - 5 days without drinking.

A group of rhinoceros is called a ‘herd’ or a ‘crash’.

Black rhinos have various habitats, but mainly areas with dense, woody vegetation. White rhinos live in savannas with water holes, mud wallows and shade trees.

Current Rating : Average
Rate Now
Views: 1687